Canadian Celiac Association Warns Against Gluten-Free Cheerios
When we heard that the Canadian Celiac Association has warned gluten-free consumers against eating gluten-free Cheerios, we were of course extremely disappointed, but it also got us thinking more about how safe gluten-free labelled products are.
Earlier this year, the CCA put put this statement:
“ The Canadian Celiac Association (CCA) recommends that people with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity DO NOT consume the gluten-free labeled Cheerios products at this time because of concerns about the potential levels of gluten in boxes of these cereals. The CCA is receptive to evaluating any additional information that General Mills is willing to disclose.”
This was in response to the launch of gluten-free Cheerios in Canada, which contain oats. While oats are naturally gluten-free, they are an incredibly high-risk grain and even specifically gluten-free oats can be easily contaminated. It is also extremely difficult to to remove grains that do contain gluten from oats, and involves a very complex sorting and cleaning process. Also, gluten contamination in oats is not evenly distributed, so some batches of oats may be more harmful than others.
Here at the Zero Gluten Baker, we think it's great that the CCA has used scientific evidence and research to explain why even gluten-free products can be harmful to Coeliac sufferers.
We'd love to know your thoughts - do you think food manufacturers need to do more to ensure that gluten-free products aren't contaminated?